Posted By Law Office of Melvin L. Vatz || 24-May-2017
Even though large fines, jail time, and a mandatory alcohol education class may be part of the penalties you are forced to serve as a result of a DUI conviction, perhaps none is more annoying or restrictive than a drivers’ license suspension. Being forced to rely on public transportation or the grace of others is a tremendous burden, so for many people a license suspension is by far the worst part of a DUI.
Once your suspension is complete, you will need to reinstate your license before you can resume driving with your normal privileges once again. Reinstatement does not happen automatically; you must petition the DMV in order to gain your driving privileges back. How do you get your license reinstated? Let’s find out.
Restoration Requirements Letter
In order to be eligible to restore your license, you will have to complete several things that will be outlined in an individualized restoration requirements letter that you can receive from the DMV. In order to obtain this letter, you may ether call the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation directly or visit their website to request it.
Once you have obtained this letter, verify you have fulfilled all the requirements. Generally, the first requirement is to finish out the final days of your license suspension (you can generally request your letter approximately 30 days before your suspension is scheduled to end). Once you have done that, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the DMV, which you can do either at your local DMV office or over the internet. In some cases it’s better to go to the DMV office directly because that is where you must go to pick up your reinstated driver’s license.
While a first-offense DUI usually won’t have any additional requirements beyond this, some cases may have additional requirements you must complete. Some drivers may be required to take an on-road examination in order to have their license fully-reinstated. Others may be required to keep an ignition interlock device installed on any vehicle they drive for a longer period of time, even though their driving privileges are otherwise restored. Finally, if you have not completed your court-ordered alcohol education course, you will be required to both finish the course and submit proof of completion to the DOT before you can become eligible to have your license suspension lifted.
If you are arrested and facing DUI charges, it’s important to fight back against your accusations in order to avoid having your driver’s license suspended. At the Law Office of Melvin L. Vatz, we can provide you with the guidance and answers you need when facing DUI charges. Attorney Melvin L. Vatz has more than 40 years of experience fighting on behalf of clients accused of driving under the influence. With a substantial record of case success and an AV® Preeminent™ rating from Martindale-Hubbell®, it’s no wonder so many Pennsylvanians trust their case to our Pittsburgh DUI lawyer.
Get a free consultation for your DUI charges today! Call us at 412-391-3030 to schedule an appointment. Categories: Drunk Driving